Fudgey Chocolate Chunk Brownies

A few nights ago Bunneh and I were catching up on some of our DVRed shows and just enjoying the evening. At a certain point I found myself wandering around the kitchen because I wanted… Something. Something really amazing, something I could make in a hurry. I mentioned this to Bunneh and he said, “So you want brownies too?”

And truthfully, yeah, I did. But I didn’t want just any brownie. I wanted homemade, from scratch, amazing brownie goodness that I could be eating within a half hour. When I have these kinds of cravings the place to go is the family cookbook. Yeah, the internet is all fine and dandy and everyone on Pinterest will tell you they have the best recipe for this or that, but the family cookbooks are always my go to source for culinary goodness. I am rarely disappointed, and this time was no exception. I found a fudgey chocolate chunk brownie recipe from my cousin and it was just the thing to sooth my craving. With a little bit of Ultra Gel to hold the moisture in we’ve been munching on the goodies for nearly four days, and that’s pretty good for a 9×9 inch pan and just the two of us. 🙂

Fudgey Chocolate Chunk Brownies

Fudgey Chocolate Chunk Brownies from Shaina Cornaby Sorensen

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

2 Tablespoons milk

1 Tablespoon Ultra Gel

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups chocolate chunks

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a 9×9 inch baking pan by greasing or lining with parchment and then greasing. Set aside.

Beat together butter, sugar and vanilla. Add eggs one at a time mixing between additions. Add milk and mix through. In a separate bowl stir together Ultra Gel, flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Add dry ingredients gradually to creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chunks.

Pour batter into prepared pan (it’s a thick batter) and bake for 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Serve warm with ice cream! Or cool and eat by the block!

Leave a Reply

