Happy Preparing for Thanksgiving Day

For our friend out of the US I know that tomorrow is just another Thursday, but for those in the US it’s Thanksgiving and here at Cornaby’s we certainly have a lot to be thankful for.

Today I’m making pies. I love baking and I love how much easier Cornaby’s products have made it to accomplish a lot of pie making in a short period of time. All this baking is not only fun, but it gives me a connection to a lot of people who won’t be with us this year. Those who are far away, and those who are close only in our hearts. So we’re thankful for them, and for good food and for family.

Now…on to the pies. Today has started with pumpkin, Black Forest pie and caramel apple cheesecake. Pumpkin cake is next on the list, followed by pecan bars and a couple of chocolate ganache pies. We’ll see if custard pies happen, just depends on how the rest of the afternoon goes.

So that gives us a lot of recipes to choose from as far as what I’m sharing today, but I think I’ll go with my take on the classic pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Pie with Cornaby’s Ultra Gel

30 ounce can of Libby’s pumpkin (Or any other good quality pumpkin puree)

3/4 cups sugar

3/4 cups brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

4 Tablespoons Ultra Gel

2 eggs

2 cans evaporated milk

2 unbaked 9 inch pie shells (I use this no fail recipe, which gives me 4 single crusts!)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Line glass pie tins with crust, trim and flute edges. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine all filling ingredients in order listed. Whisk well after each addition. The final custard should be smooth and sweet. Divide custard between pie shells and put into the oven. I don’t often get over flow, but I do put a cookie tray on the rack under my pies to catch any drips during baking. Bake for 15 minutes. Then drop temperature to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 40-50 minutes until the custard sets and a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Remove from oven and allow to cool. Serve with Ultra Gel whipping cream, ice cream or just eat it plain.

Yum!

2 thoughts on “Happy Preparing for Thanksgiving Day

Leave a Reply

